“Challenge” Anyone?

25 Sep

So often while job searching throughout the years I’ve seen the word “challenging” in job postings. As in, If you like to be challenged, this is the job for you. 

Or something like Challenging job opportunity for the RIGHT person! 

Oy.

OY, I SAY.

Who in the world desires a challenge, really? Except for adventurous types who climb mountains with dental floss strapped around their waistbands? Or NASCAR drivers or similar dare devils who dangle from buildings while tap dancing?

I am none of the above. Neither are most people.

Most of us like quiet time on couches coupled with delectable snacks and 258 cable channels and a remote control with strong batteries. With a calm sleeping dog at our feet.

It’s amazing how many employers use the word challenge. 

RUSH HOUR is a challenge, for crying out loud.

Dealing with coworkers is a challenge.

Shaking the vending machine to retrieve my Pop Tarts is a challenge.

Working for less than I always think I’m worth is a challenge.

Matching my clothing to assimilate into the working environment is a downright challenge.

GETTING UP EVERY SINGLE MONDAY MORNING for decades has been a challenge.

So why would I want the actual job itself, beyond all of this other stuff, to challenge me?

My nostrils are flaring.

FROM DICTIONARY.COM:

chal·lenge

noun, verb, chal·lenged, chal·leng·ing, adjective

1. a call or summons to engage in any contest, as of skill, strength, etc.
2. something that by its nature or character serves as a call to battle, contest, special effort.
3. a call to fight, as a battle, a duel, etc.
4. a demand to explain, justify.
5. difficulty in a job or undertaking that is stimulating to one engaged in it.

Even the dictionary states that challenge is indeed an antagonistic word.

A call to fight, battle, engage in any contest.  I mean, the word “duel” is actually used.

WHO readily signs up for this stuff?

(Of course while interviewing I pretend as if I adore challenges. I’m an actress; I just don’t play one on TV.)

If I’m going to have to “duel” at work I’m gonna have to start taking B vitamins again.

Leave a Reply

