McDonalds, Inc.

21 Jun

Hey, did you know that McDonalds serves 68 million customers per day?!

Yowza!

That’s, like, a katrillion dollars in profit a day. Especially when most of their workers merely make minimum wage.

Me, I rarely eat at McDonalds. I’m a fast food snob, even when poverty ridden. I generally don’t eat a lot of meat and mystery meat makes me phlklempt so as far as McDonalds goes I may get cookies or one of their pies if I’m hankering for something sweet and the restaurant is right there.  Otherwise I rarely patronize the cult-like institution place. But it seems everyone else does.

From BusinessInsider.com:

McDonalds sells more than 75 hamburgers per second.

It is believed that one in every eight American workers has been employed at McDonalds at some point in their life.

McDonalds’ golden arches are recognized by more people than the (holy) cross.

The Queen of England owns a McDonalds near Buckingham Palace as part of her vast real estate portfolio.

Also…

McDonalds is the largest purchaser of beef worldwide.

McDonalds calls people who eat their food more than once a week “Heavy Users.”  This disturbs me greatly.
 
McDonalds is built on childhood nostalgia and all that (check out the book  Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser); it reels us in with “family time” and calories and that creepy Ronald dude and the happy-go-lucky good times slurp-slurp McToy strategy and then we’re hooked for LIFE because there’s one on every corner and the food has programmed our tastebuds and…well, you get the picture…So that’s how they got to the point where they refer to customers who eat there a lot as “heavy users.”
From childhood  nostalgia to heavy user.
Sounds like a lifelong experiment on loyalty–err–big bucks.
 
 
I, too, was “raised” on McDonalds food. The trio was a weekly regular when I was growing up: a hamburger, small fries and a milkshake. The sheer smell of McDonalds made us kids claw at the windows of my father’s burgundy station wagon as he pulled into McDonalds. We couldn’t get out of the car fast enough. Little did we know we were being bred at, say, eight years old to love it so much that when we grew older we’d be “heavy users” at, say, 48 years old.
 
This is one of the reasons I’m glad to be a flitterer. I buck systems and march to the beat of my own drum. Even when that drum sounds all loud and annoying and offbeat. I refuse to be anyone’s decades-long “heavy user.”
 
 
Have a safe lunch today. Wink.
Leave a Reply

