Short Work Week

21 Nov

We should be oozing with excitement. After all, it’s a shortened work week with the holiday. One less day of your boss eyeing your job duties, one or two less days of hearing about your annoying coworker’s GYN appointment that she puts on speaker phone, one less day of imitating a mannequin in your swivel chair.  Aren’t you excited?! I could burst with relief. I LIVE for four-day weekends.

I thought I’d share with you some odd tidbits I discovered about turkeys…

  • Turkeys have heart attacks. When the Air Force was conducting test runs and breaking the sound barrier, fields of turkeys would drop dead.
  • Turkeys can drown if they look up when it is raining.
  • Turkeys spend the night in trees. They fly to their roosts around sunset.
  • Gobbling starts before sunrise and can continue through most of the morning.

I swear, I didn’t make this stuff up.

Oh heck, while I’m at it…

In the U.S. about 280 million turkeys are sold for the Thanksgiving celebrations.

Minnesota is the United States’ top turkey producing state, followed by North Carolina, Arkansas, Missouri, Indiana, and Virginia.

3,000 calories are consumed by the average person at Thanksgiving dinner.

50 million pumpkin pies are eaten at Thanksgiving.

72 million cans of Ocean Spray Cranberry Sauce are purchased each year.

Ok, that’s enough. I’m about to head to The Vending Machine for a half bag of air. I just found three quarters in my desk drawer.

13 Responses to “Short Work Week”

  1. haleyms November 21, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    I knew the thing about the drowning…but they seriously have heart attacks? I thought that was just a joke on “Son In Law” with Pauly Shore…

  2. Nancy November 22, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    Well, turkeys aren’t the smartest bird in the barnyard — but the drowning thing is a bit of a stretch. I did have one drown in a bucket of water once, but that’s another story… 🙂

    Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting on my blog — love to meet new victims, er, I mean bloggers.

  3. Julee November 22, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Yours looks like an interesting read. So despite all the turkey stuff, have a great 4-dayer!
    God bless,

  4. Cara November 22, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    haha, love all the Turkey facts!

  5. Jacqueline Ashley November 22, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    xx

  6. Pixel Peeper November 23, 2011 at 1:39 am #

    Now I’m wondering if my turkey died of a heart attack. I may have to inspect the giblets closely once the thing is thawed out. Wonder if that would give me a clue.

    Thanks for commenting on my blog! Enjoy your four-day weekend.

    And really, ONLY 3,000 calories?

  7. Ron November 23, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    Greetings From Southern California

    Turkeys are dumb critters for sure.

    I hope you enjoyed your 1/2 bag of air 🙂

    Thanks for your recent visit to My Blog

    Take care and have a nice Thanksgiving 🙂

    • thecubiclerebel November 24, 2011 at 12:43 am #

      Ha! Ha! Ha! So I guess we’ll all be eating a whole lotta dumb meat over the week/end. Hee heeee.

  8. Maryanne November 24, 2011 at 3:36 am #

    I’m glad just reading my “about me” section gave you hope a couple days ago!! 🙂
    Sometimes we need that!

    Thinkin’ about ya, friend!

Leave a Reply

