Paycheck 2 Paycheck

6 Aug

The working poor. That’s what workers living on the edge of their paychecks are labeled.

Most of my entire working life I lived paycheck to paycheck. Except for when I’d managed to save serious loot. Like the time I saved $10,000 while making a mere $30K salary at a trade association in Alexandria, Va.  I hated that job. Really hated it. I would get depressed on Sunday nights I hated it so much.

I would eat crap from the vending machine I hated it so much. Half bags of AIR for 85 cents.

I smoked cigarettes while working there, too.

Many, many cigarettes.

I’m convinced there are ions of people who smoke cigarettes because of their loathesome dead-end jobs.

Seven out of 10 people in the U.S. live paycheck to paycheck.

No wonder there are so many miserable workers. And smokers.

Leave a Reply

