“Overqualified”?

29 Aug

In this current age of sky high unemployment many of us are just plain stuck.

Some of us have too little experience for the jobs we go ahead and apply for.

Others have too much experience for the jobs they’re applying for.

I get the under qualified and therefore we won’t hire you thing. Of course.

It’s the overqualified and we won’t hire you thing that bothers me.  I mean, can decide if I want to take this job even though it’s–ahem–cough–below my abilities?

Aren’t many jobs (or some of their duties) below your qualifications anyway?

For an employer to decide that I have “too much experience” for any given job is just ridiculous.  Code speak for not hiring “overqualified” job seekers are:

• This candidate will be bored.

• We can’t afford to hire this candidate.

• This candidate will leave us as soon as she finds something better.

Let’s look more closely at the aforementioned top three reasons employers shy away from hiring The Overqualified…

This candidate will be bored.  Um, how can you determine what will bore ME? I need to pay my bills, dang-it. Even if your job is boring (aren’t most of them anyway?) the most important thing is that I’m not unemployed and biting my nails and spitting them across rooms and worrying sick that I may become homeless or car-less. So even if it wasn’t an issue of being “overqualified” your job would most likely “bore” me anyway. Oy.

We can’t afford to hire this candidate. Um, whatever you were going to pay the “modestly qualified” candidate, you can pay me. Again, shouldn’t decide if I can live off of the amount you are willing to pay an “adequately qualified” candidate?

This candidate will leave us as soon as she finds something better.  But this is the same “risk” you take with ANY candidate you hire. I mean, who sits around on a dead-end job as soon as they find “something better”?

My nostrils are now flaring.

There’s far too much assumption and code speak and imbalance in the job market.

I’m going back to my notebooks to find something sustainable. Even if it’s an adult-run lemonade stand in the dead of winter.  I’ll make the lemonade exciting. I’ll use seltzer water.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

